‘Cuz Candied Bacon (Or Kinda Low Carb Maple Candied Bacon with Cayenne)

Last week I candied bacon because… well, bacon + maple syrup + maple sugar + cayenne = SUPERFREAKINGAMAZING in Your Mouth.

If the idea of candied bacon makes you like this:

IMG_1465

There’s maple sugar and cayenne on this?

You need to trust me and make some anyway because, eating it made me do this in my kitchen.

I am not mentally ill. I swear.

I am not mentally ill. I swear.

It also converted this guy into a carnivore.

It was so good it converted this guy into a carnivore.

So long leafy plants!

I have my writers’ group tonight, so I think I’m going to make another batch. (The first one didn’t last long.)

If you want to make some yourself, here’s how I did it:

SPICY MAPLE CANDIED BACON

1/2 C Maple Syrup, Grade B
2 tsp Dijon Mustard (I used Grey Poupon)
4 tsp Maple Sugar*
1/2 tsp Cayenne
16 oz Bacon, Thick Cut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place a metal drying rack on top of the foil.

Mix the first four ingredients together. Place the bacon strips on top of the drying rack. Using a pastry brush, paint each strip of bacon with the glaze.

Place in the oven and bake for about 10-15 minutes. Using tongs, flip the bacon over and paint on the remaining glaze. Bake for another 10-15 minutes, or until you achieve desired crispiness.

Try not to burn your fingers by eating it while it’s still hot. You need to allow it to cool on the rack, but it’s hard to wait!!!

*Maple sugar is lower on the glycemic index than regular brown sugar and can be found at specialty stores. If you can’t find maple sugar you can substitute coconut sugar. If you don’t care about the glycemic stuff, it’ll work with brown sugar for sure.

Leave a Reply

