It’s Time to Talk About Elephants Part 1 (Or How to Make Elephant Favors for a Baby Shower)

Last March I threw a baby shower for my friend Katy. She and I grew up five miles away from each other in East Lansing, we both went to the University of Michigan… and we were both born August 3.

Kinda crazy, right?

Anyway, I didn’t write about the shower at the time because I was in a super huge funk.

But now?

I’m better. So it’s time to talk about the baby shower. Plus? These days her son is this darling little man who wore his Michigan onesie on August 3 just to wish me a happy birthday.

See?

Baby on Dogs Dishes and Decor

Finn knows what’s up in this Michigan business.

So anyway, the shower. Katy’s sister and I put the whole thing together.

And honestly? It really was one of the highlights of my spring. The whole idea for elephants started with this invitation and just exploded from there.

I’m going to start the Elephant Shower Series with the favors today. And then I’ll get into the menu and decorations next week.

Sound good?

Here it goes.

The favors were inspired by this DIY soy candle from Ruffled blog.

Since Katy’s not all that into scented stuff, I decided to make lemon curd instead of soy candles. I found this recipe from Ina Garten and got to work peeling lemons for days. (Just a heads up: if you do make the lemon curd, use a fine lemon zester instead of a carrot peeler and put the zest in the food processor. TRUST ME.)

I found this fabulous elephant thingy from Martha Stewart while I was wandering the aisles of Michael’s and decided to use it for the tags to make them super elephant-y.

photo-477

I used watercolor paints to replicate the look of the tags on the soy candles.  I punched the elephant shapes out with the craft punch thingy. Then I glued them on pieces of cardboard.

photo-478

When the favors were all assembled they looked like this.

Lemon Curd Favors for a Baby Shower on Dogs Dishes and Decor #elephant #babyshower #babyboy

Just in case you’re wondering about the fabric, it’s Amy Butler that I had leftover from Connor’s baby shower.

That was the owl shower that didn’t happen because he arrived five weeks early…. on August 3.

It all comes full circle.

photo-480

Connor turned one… on August 3.

4 thoughts on “It’s Time to Talk About Elephants Part 1 (Or How to Make Elephant Favors for a Baby Shower)

  1. Pingback: It’s Arts and Crafts Time (Or I Talk About Elephant Shower Activities) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. Pingback: Everybody Lighten Up (Or Another Smoothie Recipe) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  3. Pingback: Prosciutto, Mint, and Melon Appetizers (Or A Baby Shower Brunch Idea!) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

