The Russells Were Here (Or a Photo Journey With My Family)

Last week my mother and her sisters were in LA. This means lots of music, dancing, and (free) wine.

In addition to having our own impromptu dance parties for no apparent reason, we also went to the Vibrato Jazz Club in Bel Air for dinner.

Sparkly people listening to jazz.

Here we are all sparkly and listening to music.

And we saw Pink Martini at the Hollywood Bowl.

photo-441

We may or may not have made some snide remarks about our neighbors drinking shitty Chardonnay because we are bad people.

But we’re not so bad that we didn’t get up for church in the morning… even if we looked like death.

photo-446

In our defense, it was kinda windy that day and it was also that kind of bright and hazy that makes you go all squinty.

We also hit up the Lora Schlesinger Gallery at Bergamot Station for the Adonna Khare exhibit. She happens to be married to my former coworker, and she’s beyond crazy talented. I can’t even…

photo-437

These Adonna Khare originals are charcoal pencil sketches. I mean…

And we almost bought everything at the Gallery of Functional Art because, well, look at it.

Margaret Dorfman vegetable parchment bowl on Dogs Dishes and Decor

Who doesn’t want this Margaret Dorfman bowl? It’s made out of carrots, people!

Sharan Elran steamer light on Dogs Dishes and Decor

Or this Sharan Elran light made out of steamers?

Ted Swiet 007 Lunchbox light on Dogs Dishes and Decor

Or my absolute favorite? This 007 lunch box lamp from Ted Swiet. It is beyond…

We ended the week with a dinner party at my place.

photo-444

This photo was taken with the iPhone 4. That’s why it looks like garbage. Laura Palmer lurking above my head agrees.

Hosting my family for dinner meant that my new vacuum saw lots of action ‘cuz I can’t have three neat freaks saying stuff about dog hair….

photo-445

This is my Dyson Animal, Higgins. He was an early birthday present from my mother. I am in love.

So, anyway, that’s all from me for now.

I’m off to crank up the Craig Morgan and light the grill for dinner with my long lost Gillian. She’s finally back in LA after making a movie in Chicago for absolutely ever….

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

