It’s Sorta Fred Segal-ish (Or How to Make a Baby Gift Arrangement on a Budget)

Last year I was producing a brand sponsored web series, and one of the actors’ wives had a baby while we were in production. Life Size at Fred Segal does darling arrangements, so I decided to put one together for the baby. The items included were inside jokes from the project, but you get the idea.

Obviously, the web series was car related.

So, anyway, when friends of mine recently had a baby, I stole the Fred Segal idea and assembled my own baby gift.

Here’s how I did it… just in case you want to try it yourself.

Both of the baby’s parents are Wolverines, so I decided to go with a Michigan theme. If you don’t want to use a theme, you could just go with a coherent color scheme instead. I found most of the gifts on Amazon, and I bought the box, tissue paper, and clear gift wrap at Target.

Here are the items before assembly. I’m not sure if you can tell from the photo, but the stuffed dog is wearing fleecy baby Michigan slippers because I’m a dork like that.

Albus thinks he’s helping.

I taped the box together so that the bottom of the box became a stage and the top of the box became a backdrop. I stuffed the one-sie so it would stand up on its own. Then I wrapped the boxes in tissue paper before taping the items in place.

Here it is all assembled and stuff.

Next, I covered the arrangement in plastic wrap and tied it together with ribbon from Michael’s. (I think I would use a wider ribbon next time.)

This was fun to make, and it was a lot more affordable than the Fred Segal version.

I’ve decided this is my new thing to do when people have babies. I suggest starting early and collecting cute items over a few months so you can do something really special. I was a little crunched for time on this particular project, but I was still pretty pleased with the results.

You know, as pleased as a perfectionist can be….

One thought on “It’s Sorta Fred Segal-ish (Or How to Make a Baby Gift Arrangement on a Budget)

Leave a Reply

