I’m a Copycat (Or How to Make Panera’s Cheddar and Broccoli Soup)

Last week I came across a copycat recipe for Panera’s cheddar and broccoli soup on a really fun blog called Yammie’s Noshery. I’m a sucker for almost anything laden with cheddar and cream, so I decided to give it a try.

The soup is pretty easy to make, and it’s quite good. I would use FAR less nutmeg next time, however. The recipe calls for 1/4 tsp but I think I would reduce it to more like 1/8 tsp or even a dash. I love nutmeg, but I often find it a bit overpowering, particularly in savory dishes. Maybe it’s just me, though.

Either way, you should give the soup a try. Since it’s back up to 93 in LA today (for.the.love.of.all.that.is.holy.please.make.it.stop), I’m freezing the rest of the soup for later in the month. I’ll probably have to do the same with the New England clam chowder I made this weekend as well. Look out for that recipe later this week because it’s amazing.

I’m sure it’s not 93 where you live like it is here, so you should make this soup.

I’m off to donate blood now. My plan to do yoga this afternoon has been scrapped due to an unfortunate collision involving a very small toe and a very big dog crate.

Pain.ful.

5 thoughts on “I’m a Copycat (Or How to Make Panera’s Cheddar and Broccoli Soup)

  1. Pingback: Menu Planning for the Free Spirited Chef (Or I Satisfy My Inner Perfectionist and My Inner Flake) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. Pingback: I Just Can’t Talk About Elephants (Or I Admit I’m Sad) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

