Nursery Ideas for My Friends (Or No, Mom, I’m Not Pregnant)

Progress on my bedroom redesign project has been agonizingly slow. The entire process has been complicated by a tight budget, some pieces I don’t really like (but can’t financially justify replacing), and severely limited space. I’m closer to a breakthrough than when I began the project last spring, though. I no longer want to keep the lights off or close my eyes when I enter the room, so there’s that. That said, I’m not really ready for a work in progress post. It’s just so disjointed you’d wonder what I’ve been smoking all summer. I essentially know how I want to connect the design dots, but it’s all in my head. And it won’t translate to a decent post yet.

Instead, I want to switch gears and discuss a different kind of bedroom.

I want to talk about nurseries.

Not because I have any need for one, mind you, but because three of my good friends will this spring. I promise this isn’t one of those, “I have this friend who is pregnant and needs ideas,” posts. I’m really not pregnant. (Please assure my mother of this if she calls and asks.)

Also? I’m not baby crazy. I just like nurseries. I think it’s probably because I’m basically a big kid myself and nurseries provide a real opportunity to be whimsical and indulge your inner child in your design. Plus I like toys and bright colors, both of which go hand in hand with babies.

Here are some of my favorite nurseries.

I LOVE the Shel Silverstein “Giving Tree” closet in this nursery. I mean, I need it in my life. Photo courtesy of Apartment Therapy.

This Tin Tin inspired nursery is delightful. I adore the soft blue and yellow juxtaposed with bright accents. Photo courtesy of Apartment Therapy.

I can’t help myself. I’m in loooove. Can anyone say Cowboy Baby? #texasforever Photo courtesy of Apartment Therapy.

I dig the vintage-y Jenny Lind crib in this room, and I like the way it stands out against the charcoal wall. Maybe it’s just me, but I think this is a fairly gender neutral nursery… for your friends brave enough to want to be surprised by their baby’s gender. Photo courtesy of Apartment Therapy

This nursery is way sleek and totally gender neutral. Photo Courtesy of Houzz.

And now it’s time to get a little more girly.

I like the subtle feminine influence in this nursery. The room is soft and a little frilly without being too princess-y or over the top. Photo Courtesy of Apartment Therapy.

I love the use of black and white in this nursery from 346 Living. It’s eye-catching, and it prevents the feminine elements from taking over.

I’m way into this navy and white wall. The mobile and the baby animal print from The Animal Print Shop are great accents too. Photo Courtesy of the Animal Print Shop Blog.

And last but certainly not least is this amazing nursery from Bailey McCarthy of Peppermint Bliss. If you haven’t checked out her blog, you must. She is crazy talented. And hilarious.

I adore Bailey’s designs! They are bright, courageous, and playful. Photo Courtesy of Design Sponge.

And because one pic of this nursery isn’t enough, here’s another angle.

I die for this chandelier. Die. Photo Courtesy of Design Sponge.

If you want to see a more comprehensive photo gallery, check out the Nursery Board I created on Pinterest. You know, just in case you have a pregnant friend. Or something.

2 thoughts on “Nursery Ideas for My Friends (Or No, Mom, I’m Not Pregnant)

Leave a Reply

