Of Mustache Men and Shrimp (Or I Make the Shrimp Dish from Bon Appetit)

A few years ago I was dating this guy. I was starting to have some misgivings about the entire situation (long story), and I wasn’t entirely surprised when he initiated the break up conversation. The way he started the conversation, however, really solidified that our parting was for the best. It went like this,

“You’re just too into sports for me.”

Too into sports?

Only in LA.

I mean, go to a gallery opening by yourself and enjoy the bouquet of your chardonnay without me, dude, because I have first baseline seats to the Dodgers. And I’ll be drinking beer while I cheer for them. Sure, I like art A LOT but you probably shouldn’t care about it more than I do.

SO, anyway, the World Series begins in San Francisco tomorrow night, and I’m super excited because my Tigers will be playing the Giants. The last time they won the World Series I was six. And Kirk Gibson was still on the team.

Behold.

Can we talk about the crush I had on Kirk Gibson as a kid? Oh. My. God. Photo Courtesy of Classon Avenue Blogspot.

I mean, if that mustache doesn’t make you want to be a Tigers fan, maybe this one will.

Magnum was the original mustache man. And Detroit Tigers fan. Photo courtesy of razz ball.

Now that you’re all convinced I have some sort of closet facial hair fetish, I should switch subjects because I probably can’t convince you otherwise. Yes, I’m excited about the World Series, but I’m also excited that I have the perfect leftover dish to eat while I watch the game.

See, I made this shrimp dish from the October Bon Appetit, and now I won’t have to worry about cooking tomorrow night.

This shrimp dish is simple and delicious. Plus it has World Series written all over it. Or something…

Now I can concentrate on the game while I shovel shrimp into my mouth instead of making dinner. I might pan fry some spicy sausage and add it to the dish because it would be all kinds of awesome with some chorizo. You should do it too. Even if you’re like the ex and don’t care about baseball.

2 thoughts on “Of Mustache Men and Shrimp (Or I Make the Shrimp Dish from Bon Appetit)

Leave a Reply

