I Have an Ice Cube Problem (Or There’s a Titanic in my Gin and Tonic)

I’m a sucker for wacky things. Like, I see a bottle opener shaped like a shark and it takes all of my self-control not to purchase it. It’s not like I need another bottle opener, but you should hear the arguments I make in my mind for its utter necessity. Never mind that the item is not even an anatomically accurate representation of a shark….

How could I live another day without this? Photo Courtesy of Amazon.

Sometimes, my rational side loses the argument and I buy completely frivolous items — particularly when there’s a theme party involved. Like the skull and cross bones ice cube tray I just had to have for my Peter Pan Birthday Party last summer.

Or my Gin and Titonic ice cube tray. In my defense, that ice cube tray was a gift — from a lovely person who obviously gets me. Gin and Tonics are one of my favorite cocktails, and they’re so much more fun when I can drop a few iceberg and ship shaped ice cubes into them.

See? Fun.

If I liked the movie Titanic, this would be the perfect cocktail for a Titanic movie night with the girls, but I don’t. Incidentally, if I were entertaining company with G&Ts, I would probably buy Fever Tree Tonic instead of the more pedestrian Schweppes, and I might even substitute a more complex gin like a Hendricks instead of my go-to Bombay Sapphire, but I digress….

If I’m being honest with myself, I’m much more likely to host a Star Wars party, though. I think that means I neeed to get these Han Solo in carbonite ice cubes. I mean, these things are so amazing. I die. (See how the rationalization starts?)

Come on. I need these, right? Photo courtesy of Amazon.

While we’re on the topic of movie theme parties, I probably need these Batman ice cube trays so I can throw a Dark Knight Rises party in honor of the DVD release on December 4.

Photo courtesy of Amazon.

So, anyway, this is how my mind works. And this is how I spend $50 I should probably just put in my savings account….

One thought on “I Have an Ice Cube Problem (Or There’s a Titanic in my Gin and Tonic)

  1. LOVE the titanic ice cube tray — also never going to have a Titanic viewing party so now my mind is crazy busy trying to justify why and what kind of theme I could use for this. OOOOH, what about a “You Sunk My Battleship” party!?!? Ok… must go think on that. And in the meantime, I am pinning the Hans Solo one to my “Galaxy Far Far Away Party” board 😉

    And speaking of gin… have you ever tried Death’s Door Gin? It is named after the passage between Door County Peninsula and Washington Island.

Leave a Reply

