The Path to Hell is Paved with Good Intentions and Sour Candy Pumpkins (Or I Finally Write My Foodie Pen Pal Post)

I missed Foodie Pen Pal Reveal Day because I was traveling, and I must admit I feel guilty about it.

Like, I had a dream about it on vacation, guilty.

So anyway, this is my last Foodie Pen Pal post for a while. I’m taking a break from the blogger food exchange program. Partly because I’m sick of the Hollywood post office, and partly because the reveal day always seems to fall at a crazy time for me.

Last month, Hollie Jones from Not Skinny… Healthy sent me a package complete with great goodies, which makes me feel even worse about my delayed post, frankly. It was such a fabulous box full of potential, that I intended to write a stellar post about the fun I had with the contents.

But as the saying goes, “The path to hell is paved with good intentions.”

See, I packed my computer, fully intending to write on vacation. And then I got so caught up in crying in the woods where we spread my Grandpa’s ashes, dancing on the deck with my family, and baking my Grandmother’s birthday cupcakes that I just couldn’t focus on my Foodie Pen Pal post. Or my blog. At all.

OK, enough excuses.

Let’s get down to the goodies. Here they are.

Opening my September Foodie Pen Pal package made me smile. And gave me lots of ideas.

Hollie included sour pumpkins, and we all know sour candies are one of my many weaknesses. I managed to save enough that I can put them out for Halloween, which is nothing short of miraculous, frankly. She also sent candied pecans that I used for this French toast, and dried pineapple that I used to garnish my pina colada cupcakes. I haven’t cracked open the pistachios yet, but the package is the perfect size to pop in my purse for one of my famous low blood sugar meltdown moments.

I promise I’m posting the pina colada cupcake recipe this week.

For real this time.

Even though I’m taking a break from Foodie Pen Pals, you should check it out. You can read more about it here if you’re interested in participating.

One thought on “The Path to Hell is Paved with Good Intentions and Sour Candy Pumpkins (Or I Finally Write My Foodie Pen Pal Post)

  1. Pingback: Don’t Give Up (Or Sometimes It’s OK to Vandalize the Kinkos Bathroom) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

