On Football and Eating My Feelings (Or Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches Are Kind of My Consolation)

I eat my feelings during football season.

I grew up in East Lansing, Michigan. About five minutes from Michigan State University and Spartan Stadium, to be exact. Much of my childhood was spent in that stadium with my dad, watching his Spartans suck at football.

See, my dad went to MSU, and he’d lose his religion each time his team took the field. My dad was a usually a super polite protestant, but the minute the ball was snapped he’d become another person entirely.

The White Anglo Saxon Protestant code only allows emotional outbursts during sporting events and while behind the wheel of a car, so we have to vent a lot of frustration in short bursts. The rest of the time we’re required to drown them in alcohol and baked goods.

Luckily for us, MSU served amazing ice cream sandwiches in the stadium in the ’80s. Given the serious Spartan suck factor back then, my dad and I ate a LOT of them.

Even though I packed my bags for Ann Arbor, became a Michigan Wolverine, AND made my poor Spartan dad pay the enemy’s tuition, those memories of game day cookie sandwiches in East Lansing will always be fond.

This past weekend while I was watching my own alma mater fail at football, I made some ice cream cookie sandwiches to soothe myself. (Michigan is basically going through a rebuilding decade, and I’m kind of inconsolable about it.)

We played Notre Dame, and our quarterback, Denard Robinson, basically handed the game to the Fighting Irish.

If one more announcer says, “Denard is an exciting athlete,” I may hurl something at my television. He’s “exciting” like it’s exciting to date a musician with a meth habit. Sure, he’s an explosive runner, but he can’t do the other half of his job, which is to throw the ball to his own teammates. I can’t take much more of it. I mean, it’s like I’m watching the Spartan teams of the ’80s when I watch the Wolverines these days.

So, anyway, that’s my rant for this week. I’m done for now. It’s time to tell you about the ice cream cookie sandwiches I ate to console myself after the horror I endured on Saturday.

I used these chocolate chip cookies and some Hagen Daas for the center.

You should make some for yourself if your football team is breaking your heart. Or even if it isn’t.

3 thoughts on “On Football and Eating My Feelings (Or Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches Are Kind of My Consolation)

  1. Pingback: Sometimes It’s OK to Be Stupid (Or I Put Cornstarch in My Chocolate Chip Cookies) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. This is the first time I have been able to find a comment online bout how horrible denard is. Amen brother. Ur right the world is upside down, between every single ESPN annylist who says hes easily one of the greatest Wolverines ever an is the mos exciting playr in the country i wanna blow my head off. Then the announcer is always ammazed when he sucks. But it don’t matter an unless u watched the gm u wouldnt kno it cuz he always has atleast 1 or maybe a few highlight plays good enough for ESPN’s TOP 10. I coudnt believ they played him over Forcier who was almost as fast an a better arm an now, Gardner is almost 6’5” wit a cannon an is almos as fast plus he can break tackles. If they dont keep Denard on the bench the rest of the yr Ill go crazy, thanks for sayin it aswell

  3. Pingback: Anna’s Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich (Or I Find My Birthday Cake) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

