Sometimes It’s OK to Be Stupid (Or I Put Cornstarch in My Chocolate Chip Cookies)

Sometimes I do stupid things. Like try to hike near the Griffith Observatory the day Endeavour is flying over LA. Or secretly date someone my boss knows because that sort of thing never ends badly. Or bake chocolate chip cookies from recipes I find on the internet.

Sometimes these stupid things turn out well, but not usually. The parking situation at Griffith Park was stupid annoying this morning. And that breakup? It’s a great story now, but maybe not so much at the time. There might have been a moment when I had to hold back tears while rolodexing the contact information for the actress said boss was setting said ex up with. Or there might have been more than a few awkward incidents at premiere parties where everyone present was secretly wishing for a swift and merciful death.

So, anyway, the internet cookie recipe? It’s for chocolate chip cookies. And it uses cornstarch. I feel like absolutely everyone pinned this recipe at some point and then forgot about it. I decided to try it today because the curiosity was killing me.

And…?

I’m pleased to report it’s not an internet hoax: the cornstarch actually works, and it does produce fluffy, delicious cookies. There are a few tricks to keep in mind if you’re going to make the cookies, though. They won’t spread out on the baking sheet like traditional cookies. They remain kind of blob like unless you press the dough into discs before baking.

Plus they still look doughy on top even when they’re done baking so you just have to trust the baking time in the recipe otherwise you will probably burn them.

See how the top still looks like dough and the bottom is starting to turn golden brown? This is how the cookies will look when they are done. You just have to trust the baking time in the recipe.

I think these cookies would be great for ice cream cookie sandwiches and I plan to use them for that purpose this weekend. I’ll get back to you on that experiment next week.

Here’s the recipe if you want to give it a shot. I think you should. Just don’t bake them when you’re really hungry or you might eat too many.

Blerg.

I just did another stupid thing.

Sometimes the internet doesn’t steer you wrong. The cornstarch in these cookies makes them super soft.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes It’s OK to Be Stupid (Or I Put Cornstarch in My Chocolate Chip Cookies)

  1. Pingback: Please Bench Denard Robinson (Or Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches Are Kind of My Consolation) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. Pingback: Another Ordinary Cookie (Or Try ANOTHER Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

