It’s Still Too Hot in Hollywood (Or How to Make a Purple Cow Float)

Ice cream heals all wounds. For real.

I know I’ve been complaining about the heat in Hollywood a lot, but this shit is absolutely unprecedented. I mean, my unheated pool is actually hot. And yesterday it was hot enough to do yoga on the Santa Monica Pier and actually break a sweat. Normally, I don’t even bother going anywhere near the ocean because it’s so bloody cold, but I went yesterday. And that outdoor vinyasa flow felt a lot more like a Bikram class to me.

I don’t know if you can tell, but we’re sweating. And all we did was set down our mats.

Plus, last night I sat through an entire Hot Chip and Passion Pit show at the Hollywood Bowl and never even needed a sweater. In my 11 years in LA, I can’t remember going to the Bowl EVER and not needing to wrap myself in something to stay warm.

And here’s the obligatory concert shot of the back of some chick’s head.

I’m sure some of you are not feeling terribly sorry for me at the moment. You’re like, “Oh the poor thing, she did yoga with a view of the ocean. And she didn’t freeze to death at her fancy concert.” Well, did I mention my A/C died on Friday? Yeah, well, it did. It’s dead.

If you don’t feel sorry for me, you should at least feel sorry for my big dog. He’s moping around my place with his big tongue hanging out. I know his droopy face is supposed to look all sad, but I can’t help thinking it’s drooping more today.

I’m so hot I can’t even kill my squirrel.

Since I’m convinced that ice cream fixes everything, I decided to make myself a float of some sort today. I wasn’t in the mood for the soda-based variety, so I went with one of my childhood favorites: The Purple Cow Float.

Here’s how it’s done.

Purple Cow Float

2 scoops of vanilla ice cream
1 C grape juice
splash of soda water, optional

Place two scoops of ice cream into a glass. Pour the grape juice into the glass. If you want to add a little carbonation and/or cut the sweetness of the juice, you can add a splash of soda water. I prefer my juice undiluted, so I skip that step, but that’s just me.

Stick a straw into the glass and go for it. It’s good.

2 thoughts on “It’s Still Too Hot in Hollywood (Or How to Make a Purple Cow Float)

Leave a Reply

