My MacBook is Sick But Yeasayer Makes Me Smile (Or I’m Still Slugging)

So today’s post? Is coming to you from a computer that looks like this.

This sad machine is still slugging. Sort of like me.

Why?

Because my shiny new MacBook and I are on a break. And using a computer that looks like this beats the horror of using my iPad for anything more than messages that go something like, “I know, right? Call me.”

So anyway, I may have cried too much on my Mac while watching the JK Rowling speech yesterday or my trackwheel mouse thing was just faulty, ‘cuz the good people at Apple have to keep my Mac for a few days to perform some sort of computer surgery on it.

SO now I’m using my six year old Mac that isn’t fundamentally broken per say, save for the fact that it lacks sufficient hard drive space to hold all of my music (tragedy!), and the screen is only about 40% functional. (See, there was this incident while I was on a conference call last year….)

So, anyway, this has just been one of those weeks. You know the kind where your enormous dog accidentally trips you on a hike, you go flying in the air and rip all of the skin off of your shoulder and forearm?

What “enormous dog?” Surely, I have no idea what you’re talking about, woman.

And bruise your hip and your ribs? Yeah, that kind. The kind where you can no longer sleep on your left side and it hurts to lift your arm? Yeah….

At least the large area on my shoulder missing a lot of skin is the same area where I already had a scar. That scar? Was the result of a car colliding with my person while I was riding a bike in Santa Barbara. (I was 18 and selling books door to door at the time.)

So if you’re wondering why I’m blogging today with only half of a computer screen, I’ll tell you. Because I’m the same girl who went out and sold books on foot with stitches in her head and her arm in a sling after that car destroyed her bike. Because I’m the same girl who worked for some people in Hollywood who make Ari Gold look like a funny little teddy. And Because I’m a fighter.

And I have committed myself to writing. So that is what I will do. Even if I do it with half a screen and an aching arm.

And since this blog is really supposed to be about puppies, and cupcakes and rainbows, instead of sob stories about my flesh wounds, I will tell you that I am working on a recipe for Pina Colada Cupcakes right now.  I hope to have that for you next week.

Until then, I will leave you with some Yeasayer. They just released a new album this week, and I’m working on falling in love with it while writing this post.

Here they are, with their shiny words of wisdom. Enjoy.

Ambling Alp – “Now the world can be an unfair place at times, but your lows will have their compliment of highs. And if anyone should cheat you, take advantage of or beat you, raise your head and wear your wounds with pride. You must stick up for yourself son. Never mind what anybody else done.”

Tightrope– “But then I go again, wishing never solved a problem. If you wanna get it big time, go ahead and get it get it big time.”

Get it big time, y’all. I’m off to bake cupcakes.

2 thoughts on “My MacBook is Sick But Yeasayer Makes Me Smile (Or I’m Still Slugging)

  1. For a cookbook. And more. 🙂 There are so many ideas swirling around in my brain at present. It’s finally time to tackle them all. You should see the to-do list on my bedroom wall. It makes that scene in beautiful mind where you realize he’s just coming all kinds of unraveled look like a short grocery list.

Leave a Reply

