Whooooo’s Impatient? (Or How to Make Owl Cupcakes)

I’m impatient — like I freak out in front of the microwave — impatient. And so is my birthday buddy, Connor. He was born five weeks early — the day before his own baby shower. He’s healthy, and so is his mom, and that’s what really matters.

Since we have pushed his Owl-themed shower until he’s ready to meet all of the ladies at once, I had a lot of owl cupcake supplies sitting in my pantry. I didn’t want to wait to use them. (See reference to impatience above.)

I recently made Amy Sedaris’ cupcakes and figured it was the perfect opportunity to see if I could actually deliver the owl design I had promised.

I think I did.

Whoooo wants a cupcake?

Because I had initially planned on using banana cupcakes as the base for the owl cupcakes, I deviated a bit from the Hello, Cupcake! suggestion to use chocolate Oreos and Junior Mints for the eyes. I went with Golden Oreos and Reese’s pieces instead. I chose Double Stuff Oreos instead of the regular Oreos because they’re easier to separate. (I just happen to know this because I kind of like dismembering my food before consuming it.)

If you go with the regular Oreo variety, Hello, Cupcake! recommends microwaving the Oreos briefly before twisting off the top layer. I didn’t find this step necessary.

Here’s the supply situation.

To make the owl ears(?!?) you cut the top of the Oreo in half and affix it to the cupcake with frosting.

Here’s the pointy bit of the owl.

I ended up slicing a little off of the bottom of the cookie so that less stuck out, but it’s up to you. (I was worried the weight of the frosting would make the cookie ears fall off.)

Here’s the owl before final frosting embellishment.

Instead of making banana Runt beaks, I used a banana candy I found at a store in the mall. I looooove Runts, but I couldn’t find them ANYWHERE. (I did finally find them at the mall where I also found the banana candies, but it was easier to buy banana candy than it was to pick out banana Runts from a large colorful bin.) If you don’t feel like schlepping to the mall, Amazon has banana candies here.

To achieve the blue and yellow two tone frosting, I stuck a Wilton pastry bag of blue frosting into the yellow bag of frosting like this.

You don’t necessarily need to have two colors for the owl feathers. I just felt like making things more difficult for myself.

So, those are the owls. You should totally make them. If you do, decorate the owls the same day you serve them; the Oreos get a little gummy if you refrigerate them.

By now you’ve probably figured out there are few things I love more than a party. Those things? Are football — and theme parties. In the coming months, look out for some party planning posts involving a Winnie the Pooh party for a very special one year old boy, and some serious football theme parties.

This owl army? Is ready to get in my belly.

 
9 thoughts on “Whooooo’s Impatient? (Or How to Make Owl Cupcakes)

  1. Pingback: Birthday Girl Betsey Johnson Shows Me Up (Or It’s Time to Do the Splits) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. Pingback: Amy Sedaris and the Cupcake Makeover (Or How to Make Amy Sedaris’ Cupcakes) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

    • Thank you! They’re not nearly as involved as the sharks. I probably should have started with these, but I dove head first into Twinkie carving! The book Hello, Cupcake is awesome. I think you’d find a lot of great ideas for theme parties. I modified their designs, but they were truly the inspiration.

      • I’m going to have to pick up this book!! Plus it reminds me of a cupcake trailer here in Austin by the same name. Ever go to ‘Hello Cupcake’ when you have been here for SXSW? It’s good. Though I have other cupcake places here that I think are even better that I can recommend next time you are making your way into central Texas.

  3. Pingback: I Celebrate Shark Week (Or How to Make Shark Cupcakes) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  4. Pingback: What if Baby Connor Doesn’t Like Owls? (Or How to Throw an Owl Themed Baby Shower) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  5. Pingback: Prosciutto, Mint, and Melon Appetizers (Or A Baby Shower Brunch Idea!) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

