Amy Sedaris and the Cupcake Makeover (Or How to Make Amy Sedaris’ Cupcakes)

Amy Sedaris makes me laugh. But can she make my mouth water? Oh, come on! I didn’t mean it that way!

When I heard people raving about Amy Sedaris’ cupcakes I had to know what the hype was all about. So did my mother. We both made them this week. And we both thought they were worthy of a second bakery date, but they might not be our new bakery boyfriend.

If you’re the sort of person who is accustomed to cake mixes and this is your first foray into truly homemade cake, then you will probably be much more impressed than we were. Given that my mother and I categorically despise cake mixes and absolutely refuse to use them, I was not entirely surprised that our inner bakery snobs basically had the same reaction to the recipe.

They’re the sort of cupcake boyfriend that needs a major makeover. Like, these cupcakes are tall enough and smart enough so the fundamentals are strong, but you’ll need to overhaul their wardrobe, trade in their car for something cooler, and just basically throw out all of their shoes. In cupcake terms that means slathering them with a fruit frosting, adding vanilla bean to the batter, or filling them with a surprise in the center.

I decided to go the strawberry compote surprise in the center route, and that made a HUGE difference. Once I did that I actually sort of loved them. (Are you listening LA men? I might be willing to make out with you if you buy a chainsaw, toss your skinny jeans, and learn how to drive a car with a manual transmission. K?)

Where was I?

Making out… with cupcakes?

Oh, right. Amy Sedaris.

And her recipe. It makes 24, and you should probably give it a shot even though I’ve been kind of critical. If you do make them, I’d love to know what you think.

Oh, and here’s how I filled the cupcakes with compote.

I started off with this Wilton 230 tip.

Then I stuck the tip into the cupcake and squeezed the pastry bag. It was fun. True story.

I made owl cupcakes and Shark Week-inspired Shark Attack cupcakes out of the cupcakes. More on that later.

2 thoughts on “Amy Sedaris and the Cupcake Makeover (Or How to Make Amy Sedaris’ Cupcakes)

  1. Pingback: I Celebrate Shark Week (Or How to Make Shark Cupcakes) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. Pingback: Whooooo’s Impatient? (Or How to Make Owl Cupcakes) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

