I Order My Lasagna to Taste Like Stouffer’s (Or How to Make Stouffer’s Veggie Lasagna from Scratch)

Homemade Stouffer’s-Inspired Veggie Lasagna. The version featured here has an extra layer of Fontina on top, but it’s better with the breadcrumb topping. Trust Me.

I had some time on my hands, so I took the Myers Briggs test. It turns out I share personality traits with Julius Caesar, Napoleon Bonaparte, and Darth Vader. No, really, that’s what the internet says. And the internet never lies.

So, apparently, I am an ENTJ, or a Fieldmarshal. Now before my friends and family die laughing at the absolute truth in this nomenclature (and clamor to remind me I was nicknamed Anakin in college), there are some redeeming aspects to being a bossy rebel like me. Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, and Winston Churchill are/were also Fieldmarshals. According to the Myers Briggs Foundation, we only make up 1.8% of the population, which is probably a good thing considering when our personality goes wrong it leads to nation building through bloodshed and the occupation of the second moon of Endor. When it goes well, you get Microsoft and MacBooks. (I like MacBooks.)

Incidentally, the only personality type more rare than mine (in the US, anyway) is Ghandi’s: the INFJ, which makes up 1.5% of the population. (Curiously, some sites put Hitler and Osama Bin Laden in this classification as well. Other sites say Hitler was an ENTJ, but I say the INFJ’s can have him. I’d rather not add a perpetrator of horrific genocide to my already dubious personality classification.)

So, there you have it. I share a personality type with world leaders and titans of industry and I’m sitting on my couch watching The Empire Strikes Back and trying to figure out how to improve upon my veggie lasagna recipe. I am truly disappointing today.

See, I have attempted a few times to replicate Stouffer’s veggie lasagna in white sauce, and I have come pretty close, but I want to make it even better. Lord, I AM a bossy know-it-all perfectionist, and the only thing I have to boss around today is a bowl of chopped veggies. So Sad.

My version of the recipe is below. It still tastes good even if it isn’t perfect. If you have truly nailed it and want to weigh in, please share your recipe.

If you too want to be horrified by your personality type, you can take a version of the test here.

Stouffers-like Veggie Lasagna

2 C matchstick carrots
2 C broccoli florets
2 C frozen spinach, rinsed and drained
1 medium onion
5 C grated mozzarella (or Fontina)
1 C grated blend of parmesan and romano cheeses
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 large eggs

½ C flour
½ C butter
4 C whole milk
1 ½ tsp salt
¼ tsp nutmeg

1 C breadcrumbs
4-6 T butter (I like more butter, but this is a personal taste thing)

8-12 ounces lasagna noodles

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Bring water to boil in a large pot. Add the lasagna noodles and cook until they are al dente. Drain and set aside. (I like to use Barilla wavy lasagne noodles because they don’t stick together as much as flat noodles.)

Place the frozen spinach in a colander and rinse with warm water to thaw it slightly. Squeeze the excess water from the spinach and pat dry with paper towels. Place the spinach, carrots, onions, and broccoli in a bowl. Add eggs, mozzarella, parmesan, and garlic.

In a medium saucepan, heat ½ C butter until melted. Add flour to create a roux. Do not let it burn. Add milk, salt, and nutmeg and stir until thick, about five minutes.

Melt butter in a separate saucepan and pour over breadcrumbs. Stir to coat. (You may not need all of the butter.)

Pour a layer of white sauce into a 9×13” pan. Add a layer of lasagna noodles followed by the vegetable mixture. Repeat until you have used all of the ingredients. Pour breadcrumb/butter mixture over the top. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for about 35-45 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for another 10 minutes. Allow the lasagna to cool for 10-20 minutes before serving.

(It is also good if made a day ahead. Plus it freezes well.)

7 thoughts on “I Order My Lasagna to Taste Like Stouffer’s (Or How to Make Stouffer’s Veggie Lasagna from Scratch)

  1. Ohmigod this sounds amazing… As
    soon as it isn’t 97 degrees here and I can
    wrap my brain around the concept of
    baking something in the oven, I am all
    over this one. And all those veggies totally
    cancel out the cheese sauce right?? It’s
    freaking health food!

  2. Pingback: Gin, Grapefruit, and Gedrick (Or How to Make a Spiked Gin and Grapefruit Shake) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  3. Pingback: Something to Smile About (Or I Accept the Liebster Award) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

