Can’t They Have Pork Now? (Or How to Make Cola Carnitas in a Slow Cooker)

Cola Carnitas Tacos are decidedly not for dogs.

“They look sad. Can’t I give them some pork?” It was my mother’s first night in Los Angeles, and we were enjoying carnitas tacos and cocktails while listening to a little Sinatra. The dogs were not exactly begging, but I must admit they were looking at my mother rather imploringly from across the room.

“That’s how their faces look — and no, you may not.”

“Your momma’s mean,” she told the dogs as she stuffed her mouth with taco.

For the record, I most certainly am NOT mean. I feed them fancy fish biscuits and venison dog food — plus I make them homemade peanut butter popsicles! I just don’t feed them from the table because Albus does not need additional motivation to put his feet and face on my table during dinner.

I was eventually able to convince my mother that the dogs definitely were not sad and absolutely did not need to be fed from the table. They did get some pork in their bowls with their morning meal, however….

“Can’t they have some pork now?” She asked as I was preparing their breakfast. I rinsed the meat to make sure it wasn’t too spicy and placed it in their bowls. She smiled triumphantly and turned to the dogs to tell them, “Gram Gram just got you some meat.”

My mother (called “The FP” by her friends, which is short for “food pusher”) has now gone on to Honolulu for a week, and we have all been properly spoiled, stuffed with pork, and are in need of a very long nap.

If you’re into easy, yummy ways to cook meat, the recipe is below. Just don’t let your mother slip it to your dogs under the table….

Slow Cooker Cola Carnitas Recipe

5 lb pork shoulder (sometimes called pork butt)
3 medium onions
2-12 oz bottles of Coke (I prefer Mexican Coke*)
3.5 oz of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce**
1 fresh Anaheim chile, diced***
4 garlic cloves, peeled

Slice the onions in half and place them on the bottom of the slow cooker. Dice the Anaheim chile. Place the pork on top of the onions, fat side up. Pour the cola into the slow cooker. Add the chipotle chiles (with the adobo sauce) as well as the garlic and chopped Anaheim chiles.

Turn the cooker on the low setting and cook for 8-9 hours. Once the meat is tender and cooked thoroughly, remove it from the cooker and place it on a plate. Remove the excess fat and shred the tender pork with two forks.

Serve on warm corn tortillas with your choice of toppings. I used guacamole, salsa verde, my variation of pico de gallo, cilantro, and cotija cheese.

*Mexican Coke is made with sugarcane instead of corn syrup. It’s available at many grocery or specialty stores.

** I included a link to the chipotle chiles in adobo sauce from Amazon… just in case.

*** If you can’t find fresh Anaheim chiles, you can omit this ingredient. The chipotle chiles are incredibly flavorful and are more important to the recipe.

Why did you let the nice lady leave? She gave me meat. And presents.

2 thoughts on “Can’t They Have Pork Now? (Or How to Make Cola Carnitas in a Slow Cooker)

  1. Pingback: Too Tired to Write Up a Real Recipe (Or How to Make a Mojito) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  2. Pingback: Peter Pan Party Wrap Up (Or Here’s Everything in One Place) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

