Too Weak to Chew (Or How to Make a Strawberry Banana Smoothie)

I basically look like this today.

Yesterday, I had this grand plan to make my blue cheese potato salad and go to three barbecues which were inconveniently strewn all over a city teeming with terrible traffic and DUI check points. I planned to celebrate the birth of America with a burger and a single beer and then return home in time to soothe the dogs as they cried over colorful explosions in the sky.

None of this happened. After an attempt to tire out the animals on a hike, I took a nap, woke up feeling worse, and never left the house. What I initially thought was a pulled muscle in my back has basically turned into excruciating pain absolutely everywhere.

Naturally, my body has decided to rebel against me at the most inopportune time possible, as my mother arrives tomorrow. Not only am I facing at least two hours of traffic to pick her up from LAX, but I have to wash three loads of laundry, bathe the dogs, dust, vacuum, AND go to the grocery store to buy pork butt for tomorrow’s carnitas.

So, what am I doing? Watching Star Wars in my jammies, drinking a strawberry banana smoothie, and fighting the urge to go back to bed at 2 in the afternoon.

Strawberry banana smoothies are one of my favorite comfort foods from childhood. Plus they’re easy to make, they don’t require the effort of chewing (which I honestly don’t know if I could manage right now), and they’re all filled with vitamin C, potassium, and whatnot.

The recipe is below.

Oh, and if any of my friends are reading this: please send pizza – the Pizza Bianca with sausage from Pizzeria Mozza, to be exact. I think only sausage, truffle cheese, and crispy sage will give me the will to carry on today.

Without pizza, I’m going to need to summon some serious Jedi strength to get out the Swiffer….

My strawberry banana smoothie pairs nicely with a viewing of Star Wars. What doesn’t, really?

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

¾ C frozen strawberries

1 ripe banana

1 ¼ C milk (I prefer whole milk)

2 T honey

Place strawberries and banana in blender. Pour in milk and blend until smooth. Add 2 T honey and blend.

Leave a Reply

