We’re Not Wasting Watermelon (Or How to Make Watermelon Margaritas)

 

“You don’t have margarita glasses?” The horror in my mother’s voice was palpable. You’d think I had just told her I ran naked through the streets of Hollywood for fun. It was day two of her visit and my self-esteem had already suffered some crippling blows.

“Well, no,” I replied sheepishly. My mother continued to inspect my cupboards in the skeptical and judgmental manner only a mother can muster.

I did have martini glasses, white wine glasses, red wine glasses, stemless wine glass…. My barware was not entirely deficient.  Never mind the fact that as a single woman, I have never registered at Bloomie’s, forcing my parents’ friends to begrudgingly stock my cabinets with china, gravy boats, and overpriced crystal platters! I have been slowly building my kitchen despite paying crippling student loans for the last ten years. With the debt I’m carrying from my spare master’s degree it’s a wonder I have any plates – let alone twelve that actually match!

“I probably shouldn’t bring that up,” I thought, remembering the encouraging words my mother spoke at my USC graduation.

“With your debt, no one will want to marry you….”

I digress.

Anyway, I returned home from work that evening to find my mother brandishing a Crate and Barrel bag full of margarita glasses. (God bless my mother. She means well.)

Maybe I should tell her I don’t have any highball glasses either….

So now I own margarita glasses, and they only cost me a bit of my dignity. Tonight I’m going to use them for my watermelon margarita experiment. There’s a lot of watermelon left over after my pirate skiff carving, and I can’t let it go to waste… or straight into the compost bin.

The recipe is below.

Watermelon Margaritas

1 C Tequila
1 C Sliced watermelon
4 oz Triple sec
4 oz Freshly squeezed lime juice
Splash of Midori (Optional)
Ice

Soak the watermelon in tequila for at least twelve hours. Once the watermelon is saturated with tequila, place the watermelon in the freezer for at least four hours.

Strain the watermelon-infused tequila through a strainer to remove any seeds in the liquid. Pour 6 oz of tequila, triple sec, and lime juice into the blender. Add ice cubes and ¾ C of frozen watermelon. Blend.

You can add a splash of Midori for a little extra melon flavor and a bit of sweetness. It will affect the pink color slightly, but the taste is divine.

Garnish the glass with a piece of the tequila-soaked watermelon.

Enjoy!

A Note to My Readers (Particularly if the Reader is my Mother): All stories need “villains.” The villain in this particular story happens to be a lovely and fabulous woman who sends birthday cards to my dogs with checks enclosed. She just happens to be critical at times. We at Dogs, Dishes, and Decor love her very much, but we find her funny. 

Leave a Reply

