Meyer Lemonade with Rosemary and Vodka (Or Douse Me in Vodka when I die)

The following is an excerpt from an actual text conversation between one of my best friends from college and me:

Anika: “I think I need to amend my 401 K plan.”

Anika: “In other news, I’m experimenting with rosemary and vodka today.”

(Total non-sequitor.)

Kelley: “Vodka is my drink. My funeral pyre will be set adrift in a lake of it.”

Kelley: “Stand far back from the shore.”

Anika: “My diet revolves around sausage, sirloin, and heavy cream. There’s no way I’m going to outlive you.”

Kelley: “You can share my pyre. We will be those old ladies who raised hell in the nursing home, out-drank our grandchildren, and wore crazy hats to our funeral pyre.”

Kelley: “Sofia Loren glasses and hats!”

Kelley: “Gigantic, lunatic hats with scarves and wide brims!”

(And, this is why we’re friends….)

Anika: “I already own lunatic hats.”

(True story. Maybe I’ll post pics some time.)

Anika: “They’ll have to douse me in gin for the occasion to properly convey my essence, but otherwise, I’m on board.”

After another hour of texting this type of amazing nonsense, I finally got off my couch, tied on one of my many Anthropologie aprons, and cranked up a little Fujiya and Miyagi to get in the mood for the aforementioned mixology.

(I may have danced while I made magic with meyer lemons and vodka.)

The recipe is below.

Drinks taste better with rosemary trees in them.

Drinks taste better with entire rosemary trees in them.

Meyer Lemonade with Rosemary and Vodka

¼ C Meyer lemon juice*
1 C Soda water
2 T Rosemary simple syrup (recipe below)
1 ½ ounces of vodka
1 Rosemary sprig for garnish

Squeeze the juice of one lemon into your glass. Add the simple syrup, vodka, and soda water. Stick a spring of rosemary in the glass to add color and an air of sophistication… or something.

This drink is also tasty without the vodka, so it’s great for picnics… or pregnant friends.

Rosemary Simple Syrup

1 C Sugar
1 C Water
4 T Chopped rosemary sprigs

Bring the water and sugar to a boil, stirring with a whisk. Remove from the heat and add the chopped rosemary. Allow the syrup to steep for 30 minutes. Pour the simple syrup through a strainer to remove the rosemary.

This makes more simple syrup than you will need for one drink. It will keep well for at least a week in the refrigerator.

*Meyer lemons are a cross between a mandarin orange and a lemon and are slightly sweeter than regular lemons. If you’re using regular lemons, you may want to add a little more simple syrup.

3 thoughts on “Meyer Lemonade with Rosemary and Vodka (Or Douse Me in Vodka when I die)

  1. I’m touched…. I feel like this recipe was for me… 🙂 Sounds awesome. We’ll throw some lemons on the pyre.

Leave a Reply

