Sausage White Beans and Sage (Or a Dish So Easy My Dad Can Make It)

 

“They can practically rip your lungs out arthroscopically,” my mother said. “It’s still a big deal.” I had just told her my father had two tears in his bicep and would require surgery. I was downplaying the procedure, but she was playing up the drama.

They have been divorced for 21 years, and she’s still insisting on bringing him soup after his surgery. No need to wonder why I write a food blog. Clearly, I inherited her need to feed people.

He’s looking for dishes he can prepare and freeze before his surgery, so I promised him I’d send him a recipe I (slightly) adapted from a 2009 issue of Bon Appétit. I live 3,000 miles away and I can’t have him relying solely on his ex-wife for a pot of martyr soup, after all. The least I can do is send him some simple recipes….

Though it’s not really a summer dish, it’s cheap, easy, and it freezes well. It is a heavy (yet comforting) dish, so I think it’s totally appropriate to listen to something more emotional like Bon Iver while prepping this one.

The recipe is below.

Spicy Italian Sausage with Sage and White Beans

2 tablespoons olive oil
5 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound of spicy Italian sausage, casings removed
2 15 oz cans of cannellini beans, drained, water reserved
1 15-ounce can of chopped tomatoes
10 large fresh sage sprigs, chopped or torn

Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat and add garlic. Sauté the garlic until golden, but do not allow it to burn. Add the sausages and sauté until they are no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes with juice, and chopped sage leaves. Simmer 30 minutes. (You want the tomato juice to reduce.)

Add the beans and 1 cup of the reserved water from the beans. Simmer, stirring occasionally, about 15-20 minutes. Add more of the reserved water in ¼ C increments, if the dish is dry.

This dish actually tastes better if it’s made a day ahead, so it’s a perfect dish to make for a casual dinner with friends if you don’t want to spend the evening slaving in the kitchen. It’s one of my favorites for football season. (Go Blue!)

One thought on “Sausage White Beans and Sage (Or a Dish So Easy My Dad Can Make It)

  1. Pingback: Supper and the Single People (Or How to Make Zucchini Lasagna) « Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

Leave a Reply

